International Karate Organization Kyokushinkaikan
国 楥 空 手 澭 濝 盟 極 真 会 曘

...Bishops Stortford Kyokushin...

Bishops Stortford Facebook email

..Club History..

Bishop's Stortford Kyokushinkai Karate Club (BSKKC) started early in 1973 after Mustapha Nouali, an Algerian living in Paris, saw a Kyokushin demonstration in Paris. Mustapha was a 3rd or 4 th Dan Shotokan instructor at the time and was so impressed that on moving to England contacted the Kyokushin organisation and upon being graded to a Shodan in Kyokushin started the club in Bishop's Stortford. Senpai Mustapha continued running the club until in 1976 he returned to his home of Tcleem, Algeria after being drafted.
From 1976 the club was then run by Christopher Ball and Laurence Quaresima for about three years. Around 1979 David Bedbrook took over the teaching at the club. Senpai Dave had been running the Saffron Walden Club and training/teaching at Bury St. Edmunds for a while and then started to concentrate on Bishop's Stortford. Senpai Dave started as a Yellow belt at the club, at that time the highest grade, and rose to the grade of Nidan when he finally left the running of the club in 2001. Senpai Dave competed at WUKO, Clicker and Knockdown all over Britain and Europe & instructing in his early days at Bury St. Edmunds, Saffron Walden & Bishop's Stortford Kyokushin dojos, also starting the Harlow Kyokushin Karate club which existed successfully for around 8 years until forced to close due to being relocated away from Harlow Sportcentre. When running the Stortford club he took both Harlow & Bishop's Stortford to Lille, France to form the first British Kyokushin Karate team to take on the National French Team and travelled to Czechoslovakia in the late 1980's to compete in the Moravia Cup against the likes of the Czech and Yugoslav national WUKO teams and accommodated a Czech team in return which took on the BKKs' WUKO team. BSKKC has travelled to Hungary to compete in a series of competitions as well as sent individuals and teams to local, National and International competitions from Crystal Palace to Llantrisant, Westcroft to Leicester and London to Tokyo and Norway. Some of the old students who have gone on to coach and compete at the highest level include Trevor Marriot and Andrew Turner.

Since 2001 BSKKC has been operated by Sensei Mark Kingsland with help from Sensei Stephen Hare who have both competed at World tournaments in Japan as well as European tournament and various international tournaments in the Middle East and Europe and both hold European Referee qualifications. The club has competed at all levels with students representing their club at National WUKO and Knockdown tournaments and represented England and GB in International and World Tournaments from Wales, Norway, Bulgaria, Kuwait and all the way to Tokyo. Students have won National titles at Ladies and Mens Lightweight and Middleweight Knockdown, Junior English and British Knockdowns, Senior WUKO and Junior WUKO tournaments at England & Club tournaments as well as many club and National tournaments.

..Bishops Stortford Club Training Times..


5.30pm to 6.30pm
(7ys to 12yrs + Parents)

United Reform Church Hall, Water Lane, Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire


7.00pm to 9.00pm
(All Welcome)

United Reform Church Hall, Water Lane, Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire


4.00pm to 5.30pm
(All Welcome)

United Reform Church Hall, Water Lane, Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire

..General Info..

Next Grading Date:


Club Information - Welcome Pack

Dojo Fee - Price guide

Dojo Locations  - Map Print Out

Report on English Tournament 2014




..Bishops Stortford Club Instructors..


3rd Dan

Dojo Operator


3rd Dan


..Endeavour Cup..

The Endeavour Cup is presented annually to a member of the Bishops Stortford Kyokushin Karate Club to award their personal effort through the year.
The cup is in memory of Ryan Clack (Sensei Mark Kingslands brother).......

Endeavour Cup

1989 - Richard Jepps

2000 - Catherine Petch

2010 - Kevin Clark (Senior)

1990 - Mark Clack

2001 - Phil Brady

2010 - Jonathan & Christopher Platts (Juniors)

1991 - Mark Cox

2002 - Stephen Hare

2011 - Andy Platts (Senior)

1992 - Philip Brady

2003 - Geraldine Allars

2011 - Thomas Lednor (Junior)

1993 - Leigh Poulten

2004 - Jack Brown

2012 - Jeff Butler (Senior)

1994 - Dean Crane

2005 - KJ Hirani

2012 - Joseph Wilkes (Junior)

1995 - Leigh Poulten

2006 - Steven Shields

2013 - Mark Kingsland (Senior)

1996 - Elliot Jeffery

2007 - Dan Wilton (Senior)

2013 - Oliver Butler (Junior)

1997 - Kirsty Bishop

2007 - Erin Madsen (Junior)

1998 - Nicholas Pearce

2008 - Dave Rogers (Senior)

1999 - Alan King

2008 - Oliver Kingsland (Junior)

2009 - Andy Platts (Senior)

2009 - Mark Holmes (Junior)

Web Administrator: Sensei Stephen Hare

Copyright © 2012   All Rights Reserved..